Deciding which Windows Phone…

There are not too many windows phones available in the market….just take a look at the Android phones and I am sure you will be overwhelmed by the models available, and these could be just from one manufacturer alone. Put more manufacturers into the mix and you will get a headache trying to differentiate one from another and deciding which is the best for you.

There are only 3 or 4 main players for the windows phone market. You have the big brother Nokia, the big sister Samsung and other younger siblings like HTC and LG. Personally I have always liked Nokia phones. The latest Nokia phone I have used before settling on the iphone is the Nokia N95 8GB. I still keep this phone as a backup and it is still working as well as I bought it 4 years ago. It just refuse to die and I just refuse to let it go.

When it comes to selecting the next windows phone, naturally I have my eyes set on the Nokia offerings. Now looks and build quality aside, these are the software that are exclusive to all Nokia windows phone.

  1. Nokia Music
  2. Nokia Drive and Nokia Map
  3. Nokia creative studio – Not sure if this will run on non-nokia phones…

Personally I think Nokia Drive may be the most useful feature for me. I really wanted a turn-by-turn navigational software on my phone (on my iphone 3GS, this would mean buying one of those GPS software and it is a pity they don’t come cheap too, so I never get around buying this) and the Nokia Drive is provided free of charge to all Nokia windows phone….what a great deal this is. I am sure any of the commercially available GPS (Garmin, TomTom, etc) will be able to beat Nokia Drive hands down but not having to bring a full fledge GPS on short trips is very attractive to me. From the reviews I see on the internet, Nokia Drive seems to be a very capable product.

I had a look at Samsung and HTC’s offerings and I must say nothing stands out for me. HTC has its own built-in GPS software. Time will tell if it is better than Nokia Drive. Hackers have now learned to port Nokia Drive to other phones like Samsung but doing so is illegal and I don’t condone piracy. So let’s not go that way. The way I look at it, if I wanted Nokia’s software, get a Nokia phone. Simple.

Now when it comes to build quality, I find the Nokia Lumia range (800 and 900 series) is definitely the better ones. I have handled the 800 in a phone store and I love the polycarbonate one piece body. It just looks different. It handles different. Nice.

My top contender is the Lumia 800 and the Lumia 900. The Lumia 710 has almost the same specs as the 800 but I seem to find that the 800’s screen stand out for me…so the trouble now is to decide whether to go for the Lumia 800 or 900.

The 900 has a bigger screen, a front facing camera and a bigger battery than the 800. Many people says that they prefer the 800 in terms of the overall look. I don’t know as I have not handled the 900 yet. But the 800 in terms of form factor seems ideal in my hands. Without the front facing camera is a bit of a bummer though….but not a deal breaker personally. I don’t video chat that often on my phone.

I think I am leaning toward the Lumia 800. Prices have dropped a little recently. You can now get this outright for A$568 here and here. The other big boys retailers (JB Hifi, AllPhones, TeleChoice, Hardly Normal, Dick Smith, etc) are still selling this above the $600 mark.

Posted on April 13, 2012, in Windows Phone and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Need to decide mine too!

  2. Nice post. I’ve yet to really play with any Windows Phones much but they seem really nice. I’ve been an Android fan since the G1 but I think I’m ready for a change…either the iPhone 5 when it comes out later this year or maybe a Windows Phone. The only thing scaring me from the Windows phones are the lack of apps. I understand there are over 70,000 apps which does sound like a lot but there are a few essentials that are still missing. I’ll look again later this summer and consider all my options.

Leave a Reply

