Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 – Paperless Workflow (Part 5) – Network Scanning Made Possible with Buffalo Linkstation Quad Pro!!

After my initial success with network sharing a Dell 1133 multi-function printer/scanner through the Buffalo Linkstation Quad Pro NAS, I became bolder and decided to see if I could also network share the ScanSnap S1500. The ScanSnap S1500 is not a network scanner (never claimed to be) so it would be an achievement for me if this works at all. And the conclusion is that with the parallel usage of the Buffalo Linkstation, this is made possible. If you have a buffalo NAS and wanted to share out your scanner, then read on…

As the ScanSnap S1500 has no ethernet port, there is no way you can connect to the network. So essentially we would need some sort of a Network-USB bridging device to overcome this limitation. You could probably try one of those network USB hub devices (eg. the ones made by Belkin) and see if they work. YMMV. I have no idea if they do (or not). As the Buffalo Linkstation already comes with its own built-in Network-USB capability, it is a no brainer for me to use this as the first preference. There is no device for me to buy and no hassle for me to deal with a bunch of USB network hubs which are not working otherwise.

So to get this running, we will need to install the network USB support software. Read about the required steps here in my previous post – Buffalo Quad Pro – Network USB Navigator and Multi-function Printer/Scanner.

So the following assumes that you have already read my previous post….

The first step after this is to of course, connect the scanner to the PC, install all required drivers/software that interfaced with the scananer (such as the ScanSnap Manager and ScanSnap Organizer). After this is done, do a test run of the scanner connected to the PC. Make sure that everything is working perfectly. Now we can remove the scanner and connect it to the Buffalo NAS.

The Buffalo linkstation has 2 USB ports – one on the front, and one on the back. I wanted to reserve the front port for connection to USB portable hard drives so that means I can only play around with the rear port. Here is a picture how the USB cable connects to the NAS.

IMG_0510

I also have 2 USB devices that I want to network. A Dell 1133 MFP and now the ScanSnap scanner. So I used a USB hub. I would suggest that you use a powered version if possible. I am sure it will be fine for a USB hub to be permanently mated to a NAS running 24/7 but I feel better if I could drive the device through an external power supply. So this is what I did. Here is how the cables are connected. The 2 USB cables on the left are the ones going to the ScanSnap scanner and the Dell 1133 MFP. The USB cable on the right connects to the rear USB port on the NAS.

IMG_0511

Back on the PC, this is how Network-USB Navigator looks like now, with 2 devices connected:

2012-12-21_160705

Normally I would only need to access one USB device across the network at any one time…but there is no reason why both devices cannot be connected at the same time. This is how it looks like if I select both devices to be connected.

2012-12-21_160942

I have now done some extensive tests and can conclude that this runs just fine, at least for now. Time will tell. I am optimistic.

So if you have a ScanSnap scanner that you want to be shared between several workstations in the house, this might be a viable solution.

I hope this post is helpful.

Thanks for stopping by.

Posted on December 21, 2012, in Buffalo Quad Pro NAS, Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks for sharing. I’m just curious, so I’m assuming that the network scanning works for each individual workstation one at a time but cannot be connected to all devices at one time right?

  2. Yes. That is correct. Only one device on the network can connect to the scanner at any one time.

  3. Hi, thanks for sharing the great tip. I’m planning to buy Scansnap and I heard Evernote does a pretty neat job because of its auto-tagging / auto-sorting function. People just scan different documents, then Evernote will automatically store them in predetermined folders. By chance, do you know any software I can use that has the same function as Evernote’s auto-organizing fuction?

Leave a Reply

